Glamorgan ‘refocused’ for Leicestershire clash

  • Martyn Bicknell
  • 20 April 2017 03:00 PM
  • Match Previews

Despite his side's poor start to the season, Glamorgan Captain Jacques Rudolph believes Glamorgan can make a big impression in Division Two of the County Championship.

His side face Leicestershire at Grace Road in Glamorgan’s third Specsavers County Championship of the season after defeats to Northants and Worcestershire.

"We've refocused and we're ready for Friday's game against Leicestershire and it would be nice to start off with a win,” said Jacques Rudolph.

"I've always been of the belief that in County Cricket as soon as you can gather some momentum you've got to try and carry it on for a long time."

"If you look at last season we started with three losses and during the season there were about three or four games where we just missed out on winning opportunities,"

"If that had happened we would still have finished in the top three or four so it's not all doom and gloom at the moment."

Head Coach Robert Croft has kept the same team that played Worcestershire with the inclusion of Andrew Salter who completes the 12-man squad.

Loanee Harry Podmore plays his final game for Glamorgan before returning to his parent club Middlesex, while Michael Hogan plays his first away fixture of the season after successfully returning from injury against Worcestershire last week.

Batsman Will Bragg and bowlers Timm Van der Gugten, Graham Wagg and Ruaidhri Smith are still unavailable through injury, with Wagg successfully undergoing an operation last week. 

Leicestershire will be without Captain and former Glamorgan opening batsman Mark Cosgrove who is suspended for the match and former opener Angus Robson who negotiated his release from Leicestershire last week. Colin Ackermann, Richard Jones and James Burke are ruled out through injury.

Glamorgan (12-man) squad to play Worcestershire: Rudolph (c), Selman, Lloyd, Ingram, Cooke, Donald, Carlson, Salter, De Lange, Hogan, Carey, Podmore

Leicestershire (14-man) squad: Eckersley (capt), Chappell, Dearden, Delport, Dexter, Hill, Horton, Klein, McKay, Pettini, Raine, Sayer, Shreck, Wells.

© 2016 All Rights Reserved | Privacy & Cookies
Website Design and Build by threebit