Glamorgan v Leicestershire: Head-to-Head

  • Martyn Bicknell
  • 20 April 2017 05:30 PM
  • Cricket News

Glamorgan travel to Leicester for their third contest in the Specsavers County Championship with the Welsh county meeting the East Midlands side in the four-day contest scheduled to start at 11a.m. on Friday, April 21st.

Glamorgan and Leicestershire have each lost their opening games, with the latter losing to Nottinghamshire by ten wickets and then last weekend being defeated by an innings and 6 runs away to Gloucestershire.

The Welsh county also travel to Grace Road looking for their first victory of the summer, besides erasing the memory of their dramatic collapse in their closing Championship match last summer at Leicester when they lost their last six wickets for just ten runs in the space of 26 balls.

Glamorgan enjoyed the better of a drawn contest at Grace Road in 2015, with both Jacques Rudolph and Will Bragg posting assertive hundreds. In contrast, the home side held the upper hand in their game at Leicester during 2014 with a stubborn partnership between Stewart Walters and John Glover helping Glamorgan to scramble a draw on the final afternoon.

The match at Leicester in 2013 was an altogether different affair as the home side were forced to follow-on only for the weather to intervene and save Leicestershire from defeat as the game ended in a draw.

Glamorgan’s most recent victory in a Championship match at Leicester came in quite dramatic circumstances in May 2010 after the Welsh side had conceded a first innings deficit of 53 runs. Yet within 24 hours, Glamorgan’s seam bowlers had turned the game on its head as they dismissed Leicestershire for 71 with both James Harris and David Harrison taking four wickets in a masterly display of new ball bowling.

Openers Gareth Rees and Mark Cosgrove then bludgeoned 198 runs inside 34 overs as Glamorgan romped to a ten-wicket victory. Cosgrove is now the Leicestershire captain but the Australian will be missing this match following a one-match suspension imposed by the ECB.

© 2018 All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Cookies policy
Website Design and Build by threebit