Sky To Broadcast Glamorgan v Somerset T20 Blast Game

  • Martyn Bicknell
  • 14 February 2017 11:00 AM
  • Cricket News

ECB and Sky Sports have confirmed the 2017 TV matches with more hours of cricket televised than ever before.

For the third year running Glamorgan's NatWest T20 Blast home fixture against Somerset at The SSE SWALEC has been chosen as the televised domestic fixture in Cardiff, whilst Glamorgan's away match against Gloucestershire in Bristol on 25 July will also be broadcast live.

The Sky Sports cameras will visit the Welsh capital for five days of international cricket in June, with the ICC Champions Trophy returning to the city followed by the final game in the NatWest Intenrational T20 Series between England and South Africa.

Cricket fans will be able to watch more hours of cricket than ever before this summer on Sky Sports with exclusively live coverage from April through to late September.

Sky Sports customers will be able to enjoy an extensive schedule of international cricket as England take on South Africa, West Indies and, for the first time ever on home soil, Ireland. In another first, Sky will broadcast the first day/night Test match in England as part of the Investec West Indies Test series. 

As well as England’s matches, Sky will broadcast the ICC Champions Trophy tournament taking place in England and Wales, cricket fans can also look forward to the face-paced domestic season on Sky Sports, where Northamptonshire, Middlesex and Warwickshire will all be looking to add to their trophy cabinets. 

In addition to the schedule of men’s cricket, viewers will also be able to follow the women’s international and domestic competitions. The England women’s team will be in action in the ICC Women’s World Cup and, for the first time ever, Sky Sports will show live matches from the Kia Super League where the Southern Vipers are hoping to defend the title they won last year.

Bryan Henderson, Sky Sports Head of Cricket, commented: “There is so much to look forward to this year with more hours of cricket than ever before on Sky Sports. England will want to return to the top of the Test rankings under new captain Joe Root, the Champions Trophy is up for grabs on home soil, and England’s women have the World Cup to play for. It is going to be a long, fascinating summer on Sky Sports.” 

The start times for the full domestic schedule will be announced on Thursday.

Sky Sports – Televised Cricket Schedule 2017

ICC Champions Trophy 

Group A

England v Bangladesh (Kia Oval): Thursday 1 June

Australia v New Zealand (Edgbaston): Friday 2 June

Australia v Bangladesh (Kia Oval): Monday 5 June

England v New Zealand (The SSE SWALEC): Tuesday 6 June

New Zealand v Bangladesh (The SSE SWALEC): Friday 9 June

England v Australia (Edgbaston): Saturday 10 June

Group B

Sri Lanka v South Africa (Kia Oval): Saturday 3 June

India v Pakistan (Edgbaston): Sunday 4 June

Pakistan v South Africa (Edgbaston): Wednesday 7 June

India v Sri Lanka (Kia Oval): Thursday 8 June

India v South Africa (Kia Oval): Sunday 11 June

Sri Lanka v Pakistan (The SSE SWALEC): Monday 12 June 

Semi-Final 1, A1 v B2 (The SSE SWALEC): Wednesday 14 June

Semi-Final 2, A2 v B1 (Edgbaston): Thursday 15 June

Final (Oval): Sunday 18 June

England v Ireland 

1st ODI (The Brightside Ground, Bristol): Friday 5 May

2nd ODI (Lord’s): Sunday 7 May


England v South Africa

1st ODI (Headingley): Wednesday 24 May

2nd ODI (Ageas Bowl): Saturday 27 May

3rd ODI (Lord’s): Monday 29 May

1st T20 (Ageas Bowl): Wednesday 21 June

2nd T20 (Taunton): Friday 23 June

3rd T20 (The SSE SWALEC): Sunday 25 June

1st Test (Lord’s): 6-10 July

2nd Test (Trent Bridge): 14-18 July

3rd Test (Kia Oval): 27-31 July

4th Test (Emirates Old Trafford): 4-8 August


England v West Indies

1st Test (Edgbaston): 17-21 August

2nd Test (Headingley): 25-29 August

3rd Test (Lord’s): 7-11 September

T20 (Durham): Saturday 16 September

1st ODI (Emirates Old Trafford): Tuesday 19 September

2nd ODI (Trent Bridge): Thursday 21 September

3rd ODI (The Brightside Ground, Bristol): Sunday 24 September

4th ODI (Kia Oval): Wed 27 September

5th ODI (Ageas Bowl): Friday 29 September

Royal London One-Day Cup

Northants v Warwickshire (Northampton): Thursday 27 April

Somerset v Surrey (Taunton): Friday 28 April

Yorkshire v Lancashire (Headingley): Monday 1 May

Hampshire v Middlesex (Ageas Bowl): Wed 3 May

Essex v Sussex (Chelmsford): Wed 10 May 

Nottinghamshire v Durham (Trent Bridge): Thursday 11 May

Final round games: Tuesday 16 May and Wednesday 17 May

Play-Offs: Tuesday 13 June

Semi-Final 1: Friday 16 June

Semi- Final 2: Saturday 17 June

Final (Lord’s): Saturday 1 July


ICC Women’s World Cup

26 June – 23 July

Final (Lord’s): Sunday 23 July


NatWest T20 Blast

Essex Eagles v Surrey (Chelmsford): Friday 7 July

Birmingham Bears v Notts Outlaws (Edgbaston): Saturday 8 July

Northamptonshire Steelbacks v Yorkshire Vikings (Northampton): Tuesday 11 July

Sussex Sharks v Hampshire (Hove): Wednesday 12 July

Middlesex v Surrey (Lord’s): Thursday 13 July

Lancashire Lightning v Yorkshire Vikings (Emirates Old Trafford): Friday 14 July

Glamorgan v Somerset (Cardiff): Saturday 15 July

Kent Spitfires v Gloucestershire (Canterbury): Tuesday 18 July

Worcestershire Rapids v Derbyshire Falcons (Worcester): Wednesday 19 July

Durham Jets v Leicestershire Foxes (Durham): Thursday 20 July

Surrey v Middlesex (Kia Oval): Friday 21 July

Notts Outlaws v Northamptonshire Steelbacks (Trent Bridge): Saturday 22 July

Gloucestershire v Glamorgan (The Brightside Ground, Bristol): Tuesday 25 July

Yorkshire Vikings v Durham Jets (Headingley): Wednesday 26 July

Kent Spitfires v Somerset (Canterbury): Thursday 27 July

Sussex Sharks v Middlesex (Hove): Friday 28 July

Essex Eagles v Gloucestershire (Chelmsford): Sat 29 July

Northampton Steelbacks v Birmingham Bears (Northampton): Tuesday 1 August

Leicestershire Foxes v Notts Outlaws (Leicester): Wednesday 2 August

Middlesex v Hampshire (Lord’s): Thursday 3 August

Birmingham Bears v Worcestershire Rapids (Edgbaston): Friday 4 August

Hampshire v Glamorgan (Ageas Bowl): Thursday 10 August

Yorkshire Vikings v Lancashire Lightning (Headingley): Friday 11 August

Somerset v Kent Spitfires (Taunton): Sat 12 August

Surrey v Essex Eagles (Kia Oval): Sunday 13 August

Derbyshire Falcons v Durham Jets (Derby): Tuesday 15 August

Lancashire Lightning v Worcestershire Rapids (Emirates Old Trafford): Wednesday 16 August

Further games tbc

Quarter-Finals: Tuesday 22 August – Friday 25 August

Finals Day (Edgbaston): Saturday 2 September


Kia Super League

Southern Vipers v Western Storm (Ageas Bowl): Thursday 10 August

Yorkshire Diamonds v Lancashire Thunder (Headingley): Friday 11 August

Western Storm v Loughborough Lightning (Taunton): Saturday 12 August

Surrey Stars v Yorkshire Diamonds (Kia Oval): Sunday 13 August

Loughborough Lightning v Southern Vipers (Derby): Tuesday 15 August

Lancashire Thunder v Surrey Stars (Emirates, Old Trafford): Wednesday 16 August

Finals Day (Hove): Friday 1 September

Specsavers County Championship

Matches tbc

© 2016 All Rights Reserved | Privacy & Cookies
Website Design and Build by threebit