Australia name squad for first two Ashes Tests

  • Lewis Morgan
  • 17 November 2017 08:55 AM
  • Cricket News

The hosts have announced a 13-man group for the first Test starting at the GABBA on 23 November.

Australia have named a 13-man squad for the first two Ashes series Tests in Brisbane and Adelaide.

There is a surprised recall for Tasmania wicketkeeper Tim Paine seven years after his last Test appearance while Cameron Bancroft of Western Australia could make his Test debut at the GABBA. Seamer Chadd Sayers is also included in the squad.

The first Test starts at the GABBA in Brisbane on Thursday 23 November.

Australia squad for first two Ashes Tests:
Steve Smith (c) (New South Wales)
David Warner (vc) (New South Wales)
Cameron Bancroft (Western Australia)
Jackson Bird (Tasmania)
Pat Cummins (New South Wales)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
Tim Paine (Tasmania)
Chadd Sayers (South Australia)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

England play Australia in Cardiff next summer in a One-Day International on Saturday, 16 June. Tickets are still available priced from £56 for adults and £12 for juniors.  Tickets can be purchased online at or by calling the Box Office on 02920 419 311.

© 2018 All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Cookies policy
Website Design and Build by threebit