Gloucestershire win by 9 wickets

  • Andrew Hignell
  • 13 September 2018 11:30 AM
  • Match Reports

Gloucestershire beat Glamorgan by nine wickets after an hour's play on the fourth and final day of their Specsavers County Championship match at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff after dismissing the home side for 251, with Timm van der Gugten making an unbeaten 60


With Glamorgan yesterday afternoon, still in arrears on 150/8 and with 32 overs remaining, a defeat inside three days looked on the cards, but Timm van der Gugten had other ideas and together with the obdurate Kieran Bull, they steadfastly took this match into a fourth day. Although Bull was dismissed shortly before the close last night after a three-hour vigil, the Dutchman remained unbeaten with a career-best 58 and with Michael Hogan having already plonked a ball over the long-on boundary for six, they was still resistance in the Glamorgan tail as the game resumed with the Welsh county just 18 runs ahead.


Matt Taylor resumed the bowling duties and saw consecutive balls being pulled and square-cut for four by Michael Hogan who also survived a chance at mid-on two overs later. But Hogan’s innings was ended by Taylor in the fifth over of the day as he bowled the Glamorgan captain, with the left-armer maintaining the good name of the family by claiming his fifth wicket after his brother’s century in Gloucestershire’s first innings.


This left Timm van der Gugten unbeaten on 60, his highest first-class score, with the Dutchman straight back into action with the new ball as Gloucestershire began their pursuit of their target of 35. He struck with his fifth delivery as he removed Miles Hammond l.b.w. James Bracey duly joined Chris Dent, who glanced Hogan to fine-leg before despatching van der Gugten through point and to square-leg.


Bracey also clipped the Dutchman to fine-leg before Dent cover drove Hogan. Bracey found the ropes again as he cover drove van der Gugten, before Dent struck the winning runs by straight driving Hogan for four as Gloucestershire eased to a nine-wicket win in the eighth over.

© 2018 All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Cookies policy
Website Design and Build by threebit