TVDG picks up 2nd Player of the Year Award

  • Lewis Morgan
  • 29 September 2018 10:05 AM
  • Cricket News

Timm van der Gugten has been named Glamorgan’s Player of the Year and County Championship Player of the Year after another prolific season with the ball.

It is the second time van der Gugten has claimed the Player of the Year prize in just three seasons with the Club.

The Dutch international finished as the Welsh county’s top wicket-taker in the Vitality Blast with 19, while adding 43 wickets in the Specsavers County Championship at an average of just 21.

TVDG also managed two five-wicket hauls in the County Championship, including career-best figures of 7/42 against Kent at Sophia Gardens, which also saw him surpass 100 wickets for the county. 

The fast-bowler also put in impressive displays with the bat during the campaign, hitting a career-best 60 not out against Gloucestershire in Cardiff and also combined with Chris Cooke to put on a 61-run partnership against Essex Eagles in the Vitality Blast at Chelmsford, a record ninth-wicket stand for the county in T20 cricket.  

Colin Ingram once again picked up the county’s One-Day Player of the Year award after another emphatic season with the bat in white-ball cricket. The South African took over the captaincy in the shorter-formats and led by example as he topped the county’s run charts in the Royal London One-Day Cup (402) and Vitality Blast (430). 

Ingram continued to produce match-winning performances for Welsh the county as he cemented his reputation as one of the best one-day players in Glamorgan’s history. The 33-year-old averaged 57 in the Royal London One-Day Cup and was the standout performer with the bat in T20 cricket playing match winning innings with regularity.

Kiran Carlson was awarded the John Derrick Young Player of the Year following another impressive season with the bat across all three formats. 

In the County Championship, Carlson hit 152 against Derbyshire at St.Helen’s and amassed over 500 runs in the competition. He also smashed a maiden T20 half-century off 32 balls against Surrey at the Oval in front of the sky cameras.  

Jeremy Lawlor picked up the award for 2nd XI Player of the Year award. Lawlor struck centuries against Somerset and Middlesex for Glamorgan seconds and forced his way into the first team on the back of his performances. He then took three wickets against Sussex at Hove to confirm his transformation in to a genuine all-rounder.

Kazi Szymanski and Tegid Phillips were announced as the Academy Player of the Year and Most Improved Academy Player of the Year respectively on a glittering night at Sophia Gardens. 

Completing a vibrant evening, Matt Maynard became the 31st inductee into the Glamorgan Hall of Fame.

Maynard first burst onto the county scene at Swansea in 1985 scoring an amazing century on his First-Class debut. During a Glamorgan career that spanned 20 years, the right-handed batsman amassed nearly 25,000 first class runs in all and captained the Welsh county to a County Championship title in 1997. He is also the county’s leading centurion with 57 and represented England in four Tests and 14 ODI’s.

Maynard has also served as Glamorgan Head Coach and after a few years away from the county, returned this year when he was appointed batting consultant coach and is now tasked with mentoring the first team squad as well as future generations of Welsh batsmen.

The St Helen’s Balconiers will host their annual Awards event on 1st October in Swansea, when further player awards will be presented to recognise stand-out milestone achievements and reminisce on a number of anniversaries that were celebrated during the 2018 season.

© 2018 All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Cookies policy
Website Design and Build by threebit