Glamorgan celebrate century of first-class cricket

6 Oct 2020 | Cricket

From St Helen's to Sophia Gardens, Waqar to Wallace, we have so much to celebrate as a cricket Club steeped in Welsh and international history.

The Welsh county are celebrating 'A Hundred Years of Hwyl', with a century of first-class cricket under the belt, spanning over 20 different grounds, hundreds of players and hundreds of thousands of spectators.

Glamorgan's first County Championship game in May, 1921 saw the new side defeat Sussex at Cardiff Arms Park, as the Welsh county made an immediate impact in first-class cricket.

27 years later Glamorgan secured their first County Championship title, under the skilled leadership of Wilf Wooller, with Len Muncer's 156 wickets and 1,000-run seasons for Allan Watkins, Gilbert Parkhouse, Emrys Davies and Willie Jones contributing greatly to the cause.

1963 saw Glamorgan finish in second place behind the dominant side of the decade, Yorkshire, before the Club finally climbed the summit for the second time in 1969.

Behind the tactical nuance of Tony Lewis, a side of Glamorgan heroes that have inspired a generation of fans and players emerged, with Alan Jones and Don Shepherd the leading lights of a team that went undefeated.

That 1969 side used only 15 players, with 11 of them featuring in at least 24 of the 28 games played that year. Majid Khan and Bryan Davis, alongside Jones and Lewis, all scored 1,000 runs for the year. Roger Davis and Peter Walker took 60 catches between them, while Walker also added nearly 900 runs and over 50 wickets during the season.

Malcolm Nash's 80 wickets were pipped only by Shepherd's 81, with Tony Cordle and Lawrence Williams also both reaching the 50-wicket mark. The side fell just short of retaining their title in 1970, finishing just 17 points behind Kent.

The 1980s saw an influx of generational Welsh talents blooded and build a strong foundation, with the side adding Viv Richards in the early 90s and winning the Sunday League in 1993 under the leadership of Hugh Morris, before Matt Maynard captained the side in 1997 to the promised land once again.

The 1997 title was secured in a dominant display at Taunton, with a Maynard century that featured no singles demonstrating the fearless cricket Glamorgan played. 

Steve James (1,605 runs, seven centuries) and Morris (1,207 runs, four centuries) gave Glamorgan a great platform more often than not, with skipper Maynard (1,106 runs, three centuries) and Adrian Dale (840 runs, two centuries) completing an enviable top order.

Like the other title winning sides, this one was settled, with 11 players featuring in at least 13 of the 17 fixtures, and only a further three players used.

Welsh stalwarts Steve Watkin (61 wickets), Robert Croft (54 wickets) and Darren Thomas (44) provided the core of the bowling attack, with Waqar Younis turning Glamorgan into the complete package with the ball as his 68 wickets helped the Pakistani become a Welshman, and the trophy was once again returning to south Wales.

Alongside the three first-class titles, Glamorgan have won three one-day leagues, with 1993, 2002, and 2004 trophies also adorning the trophy cabinet at Sophia Gardens.

2021 will be a memorable year for cricket and for Glamorgan, with what we hope will be a more full schedule and fans returning after the Covid-19 pandemic of 2020. We want you to join us in celebrating an historic occasion for Glamorgan and Welsh cricket.

Do you want to know more about the history of Glamorgan?

Visit 'Our History' section or head to the ever-expanding 'Museum of Welsh Cricket', with its detailed breakdowns of every player and season in Glamorgan history!


Be part of our history
Exclusively for 2021, our Centenary Club is a one-off special that helps our fans and Members celebrate 'A Hundred Years of Hwyl', and is open to anyone (you don't have to be a Member!). Find out more about joining our Centenary Club on our dedicated page here.

(Please note that purchasing the Centenary Club product, on its own, does not permit access to fixtures)

2021 Glamorgan Membership is now on sale! Visit our Membership page and get up to 39 days of cricket for just £150.