AB to lead Proteas in T20 Series in England

  • Lewis Morgan
  • 15 June 2017 11:05 AM
  • Cricket News

South Africa has named their squad for the three-match T20 International Series in England, with AB de Villiers captaining the side in the absence of regular T20 captain Faf du Plessis.

“I would like to thank Farhaan Behardien for leading the side so ably in the recent series against Sri Lanka,” commented CSA National Selection Panel convener, Linda Zondi.

“We are indeed fortunate in the quality of our team leaders and Farhaan remains very much part of this group.

“We have also been impressed as a panel by the quality of players coming through our franchise and South Africa ‘A’ system and we are ready to give further opportunities to Andile Phehlukwayo, Mangaliso Mosehle, Jon-Jon Smuts and Dane Paterson who all made their debuts in the recent series against Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, Lungi Ngidi could not be considered because of injury.

“This is an exciting opportunity for the newcomers to play alongside world-class and experienced players like AB, Farhaan, David Miller, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris and Wayne Parnell.”

There is one new cap in this format in Dwaine Pretorius, who has been a regular member of the ODI squad during the past season.


South Africa Squad:

AB de Villiers (Multiply Titans, capt)

Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans)

Reeza Hendricks (bizhub Highveld Lions)

Imran Tahir (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)

David Miller (VKB Knights), Morne Morkel (Multiply Titans)

Chris Morris (Multiply Titans)

Mangaliso Mosehle (bizhub Highveld Lions)

Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras)

Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras)

Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)

Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions)

Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans)

Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors)

South Africa play England in Cardiff in the 3rd NatWest IT20 International on Sunday 25th June – secure your seats HERE.

© 2016 All Rights Reserved | Privacy & Cookies
Website Design and Build by threebit